new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
Northport Range Rear Lighthouse, PE | by
Back to photostream

Northport Range Rear Lighthouse, PE

Rain and fog day.

The most recent pair of range lights were erected inside the harbour in 1897 using used open skeleton lighthouse towers. In 1903, the towers which formed the Northport Range were enclosed and painted white. A new front range light was installed in 1962 and the height of the rear range tower was increased by 6 feet in 1970, which resulted in the structure having its unique long neck. The lighthouse is owned by the Canadian Coast Guard and is an active aid to navigation

3 faves
Taken on June 9, 2016