new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
The Lonely Cello | by Haags Uitburo
Back to photostream

The Lonely Cello

During Festival Classique 2007 the Brodsky Quartet and clarinettist Joan Enric Lluna gave a concert in the Nieuwe Kerk (New Church) in The Hague. The photo captures the moment just before the musicians start to play In Memoriam: For Those Who Fall in Times of War, written by composer Paul Barker at the time when the war in former Joegoslavia was at it's worst. With the Sarajevo Quartet in mind, three members of which died during this war, leaving only the cellist, Barker wrote this intensely moving work for the Brodsky Quartet and Joan Enric Lluna which they performed in a semi-theatrical setting directed by Stephen Clark.


See where this picture was taken. [?]

3 faves
Taken on June 16, 2007