new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
Buck Springs Cabins | by Coconino NF Photography
Back to gallery

Buck Springs Cabins

The smaller of two Fire Guard Station cabins, built in 1923.

 

The present day Buck Springs Fire Guard Station consists of two cabins. The smaller cabin was built in 1923, and the larger was built in 1946 by Forest Service employees, Louie Pyle and Frank Holder. The Cabin Loop Trail system links General Springs, Pinchot, and Buck Springs Fire Guard Stations. These cabins date from the early days of the Forest Service on the Mogollon Rim.

 

The trail system offers excellent hiking and backpacking opportunities. Several the cabins are easily accessed by short walks from the parking areas. Multiple trail access points allow for short day hikes with the kids to multi-day backpacking experiences on the 36 miles of trails in the system. Perennial springs, picturesque canyons, abundant wildlife, and a forest that feels almost magical make this system one of the premiere hiking areas on the Coconino National Forest.

 

Photo taken July 2017 by Deborah Lee Soltesz. Source: U.S. Forest Service, Coconino National Forest. Visit Cabin Loop Trail System and the Coconino National Forest for more information.

1,829 views
1 fave
0 comments
Taken on July 21, 2017