new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
Flag of Australia | by Johan Larsson
Back to photostream

Flag of Australia

The flag of Australia was chosen in 1901 from entries in a nationwide design competition held following Federation. It was approved by Australian and British authorities over the next few years, although the exact specifications of the flag were changed several times both intentionally and as a result of confusion. The current specifications were published in 1934, and in 1954 the flag became legally recognised as the "Australian National Flag". The flag is a defaced Blue Ensign: a blue field with the Union Flag in the upper hoist quarter, and a large white seven-pointed star known as the Commonwealth Star that symbolises the six states and other territories of the Commonwealth of Australia respectively; the remaining half is a representation of the Southern Cross constellation, made up of five white stars - one small five-pointed star and four, larger, seven-pointed stars.

0 faves
Taken on March 15, 2006